Compare Jeep Wrangler JK and TJ Model Specifications - Jeep Wrangler JK


Selasa, 12 Juni 2018

Compare Jeep Wrangler JK and TJ Model Specifications

Today, Jeep has offered many of the best vehicles to choose from. One of the popular models is the Jeep Wrangler. Not the same as the Liberty, Compass, and Cherokee models. There are four choices of Jeep Wrangler, the first CJ, YJ, TJ, and JK's most recent models.

Although it's all Jeep Wranglers. But in fact, the four existing models have a clear distinction. And this post will compare the specifications of Jeep Wrangler JK and TJ models.

Reviews of Jeep Wrangler JK

Jeep Wrangler JK is the most suitable choice for those of you who need the latest model wrangler.

The idea to bring the next generation of the TJ was first started in 2001. Jeep Wrangler JK model of 2007 finally produced and officially marketed the first time in August 2006.

Being the next generation, Jeep Wrangler JK specification is very different from TJ's wrangler and offers many benefits for all drivers.

JK Wrangler is the latest model supported by navigation system, traction control system, anti-lock braking system, power windows, and remote power door locks.

Similar to the TJ model, Wrangler JK is also available in two models. First, the 2-door model, and the second is an unlimited model. But Unlimited JK model is different from unlimited on TJ.

The main differences can be seen in the size of wheelbase in each model. Jeep Wrangler Unlimited TJ remains based on 2 doors 103.4 in (2,630 mm) LWB. While the model of Jeep Wrangler JK Unlimited already supported with 4 doors 116 in (2,950 mm).

Jeep Wrangler JK Engine Specs 

As a successor, Jeep Wrangler JK engine is different from Jeep Wrangler TJ. Both Wrangler models are supported with three engine type options.

Jeep Wrangler JK is powered by a 2.8L VM Motori RA 428 engine, 3.6L Pentastar V6 and 3.8 L EGH V6.

While Jeep Wrangler TJ uses 2.4L PowerTech I4 engine, 2.5L PowerTech I4, and 4.0L PowerTech I6.

Especially for Jeep Wrangler JK latest edition already using 3.6L Pentastar V6 engine. This machine has better horsepower and torque.

Edition of Jeep Wrangler JK

Jeep Wrangler is available in several edition or model year choices. Starting from 2007 to 2010 with 3.8L EGH V6 engine. This machine is manufactured by Chrysler company and is believed to be stronger when compared to Mitsubishi 3.0 V6 engine.

While the latest edition from the 2012 model to the current edition. The latest JK Wrangler model already uses 3.6L Pentastar V6.

As mentioned above, this latest machine is smaller, but very powerful. This machine is manufactured by FCA since 2011 until now.

Jeep Wrangler JK Transmission Options

There are four transmission options available. Especially for the 2007 to 2010 edition using 4 speed Ultradrive 42RLE automatic transmission.

While special Jeep Wrangler JK 2012 edition and the latest uses 5-speed automatic transmission Mercedes-Benz W5A580 and Chrysler 545RFE.

There is also a choice of 6-speed manual transmission Chrysler NSG370.

Horsepower and Torque

Jeep Wrangler JK edition 2007 to 2010 has 202 horsepower and 237 torque. While the 2012 edition with the new 3.6L Pentastar V6 engine has 285 horsepower with 260 torque.

Jeep Wrangler TJ Engine Specs

Jeep Wrangler TJ was produced from 1997 to 2006. The old Wrangler model is supported with three engine options, namely 4.0L inline-six, 2.5L four-cylinder, and DOHC 2.4L four-cylinder.

Each machine is used for different editions. The first and 2.5L four-cylinder engines were used in the 1997 to 2002 editions. The third engine was used in the TJ 2003 to 2006 edition.

Edition of Jeep Wrangler TJ

Jeep Wrangler TJ 1997 to 2002 is an old edition. While the latest edition of Jeep Wrangler TJ was produced in 2003 to 2006.

The latest Jeep Wrangler TJ is available in three different models. Rubicon, Sahara and Sport.

Rubicon is one of the most optimal models for off road purposes. While Sahara and Sport is a model with a more powerful engine that is 4.0L inline-six.

Jeep Wrangler TJ Transmission Options

Jeep Wrangler TJ is supported with manual and automatic transmissions. TJ edition 1997 to 2000 supported by a five-speed manual transmission AX-15.

Furthermore, this transmission is replaced with a five-speed NV3550 transmission and is used in the 2003 edition.

While the four-speed four-speed automatic transmission is used in the 2003 and 2006 editions.

Horsepower and Torque

Each machine used by Jeep Wrangler TJ has different horsepower and torque. The 4.0L inline-six engine used in the 1997 to 1999 edition has 181 horsepower and 222 torques. While the latest edition 2000 to 2006 has 190 horsepower with 235 torque.

The 2.5L four-cylinder engine has 120 horsepower with 140 torques. While the 2.4L engine has 147 horsepower with 165 torque.


After reading the Jeep Wrangler JK and TJ comparison information. Now you must have known the difference between Jeep Wrangler JK and Wrangler TJ. 

If you want the latest model, you can choose to drive Jeep Wrangler JK. But, Jeep Wrangler TJ also seems still powerful enough to be used for offroad or daily vehicles.

Source :